Just Foreign Policy Iraqi Death Estimator    

Tuesday, July 21, 2009

Aussie icons up for seven wonders list

Uluru, Great Barrier Reef in line for Seven Wonders

AUSTRALIAN icons will battle it out against the Grand Canyon and Angel Falls to make a new Seven Wonders of the World list.
– Northern Territory, and part of Australia’s Red Centre
Vibrant in colour, rich in texture and steeped in history, Uluru – also commonly known as Ayers Rock – is the world’s largest monolith, and an icon of Australia.

Over 318 metres high, 9.4 kilometres in circumference and extending 6 kilometres below the ground’s surface, the remarkable geological compositions of Uluru ensures that it will remain a relic of our nation. Designated a UNESCO World Heritage site since 1987, Uluru, is also remarkable for its religious and spiritual significance.
To vote for Uluru, click here

Great Barrier Reef – Queensland

A remarkable natural gift, the Great Barrier Reef is blessed with the breathtaking beauty of the world’s largest coral reef. The reef contains an abundance of marine life and comprises over 3,000 individual reef systems and coral cays and literally hundreds of picturesque tropical islands with some of the world’s most beautiful beaches.

The marine park stretches over 3,000 kilometres and the reef, around 65 kilometres wide in some parts, is a gathering of more than 400 different kinds of coral, coral sponges, molluscs, rays, dolphins, over 1,500 species of tropical fish, more than 200 types of birds, around 20 types of reptiles including sea turtles and giant clams over 120 years old.

To vote for the Great Barrier Reef, click here


Post a Comment

<< Home

free hit counter